Literally Leah

sharing is caring, so I obviously care a lot.

Rambles on a Tuesday December 1, 2009

Filed under: Identity,Recreational Activity — The Under-Analyst @ 1:06 pm
Tags: , ,

I pick up a copy of “Pen on Fire, a busy woman’s guide to igniting the writer within.”  Well, this book isn’t for me now is it!  Where is the book titled, “Mac book on fire, a lazy too-much-time-on-her-hands woman’s guide to igniting the writer within?

 “This is crap,” I announce to my mother as she is steeped over the stove.  I am skimming the first chapter of the book and I read aloud the following inspirational paragraph:

 “Spectators don’t win fights and the one fighting technique I have not seen fail yet is to just keep getting up.  People shouldn’t be discouraged, because they can go from everybody saying that they would never be published and all of a sudden the wall’s down, not from any one punch but from the accumulated weight of all the punches…”

“I’m not a puncher!” I say out loud.

My mother clicks her tongue and smiles at me, “No fancy, you’re not.  You’re more like a whiner.”

“Maybe I’m a slapper,” I venture.

“No, sweetie.  You’d be like this, ‘Heeeey, there’s a wall here.  Not fair! Shit. Stupid wall.  Nooooo. Hhhmm what’s on tv?” 

We both laugh.  “Face it baby girl, we’re giver uppers.”

As I sigh and smile up at her I am frustrated.  Why can’t I be a puncher? 

It was only a week ago that I lay on the small couch, feet dangling over the edge, watching Barbra Streisand Live in Concert on a Saturday night with my mom and her husband.  As I watched the band accompany her I was suddenly reminded of my days as first chair flute in eighth grade. 

“I could have been a professional fluter,” I declare to no one in particular.  And this gets me thinking about all of the things I could have done but didn’t.  Is there still hope?  At what point do dreams become past time shouldas and not future maybes?

I am comforted by the fact that writing is ageless without an expiration date.  Maybe I will find the discipline I need inside of my mature years?  Or maybe I simply need to learn how to be a puncher.

 

3 Responses to “Rambles on a Tuesday”

  1. Brian Says:

    Ms Leah –

    That book is crap. Writing comes from passion and you have that. Mike Tyson can punch, but he can barely spell his name.

    Sure maybe you arent the most motivated person in the world, but you just havent found the spark yet.

    Like Emma keeps telling – “Try, Try Again Daddy.” Something about the truthfulness of a 4 year old that keeps it real.

    In the infamous words of Animal House – “Was it over when the Germans Bombed Pearl Harbor?” Hell NO!

    You find delight in the smallest things in life that so many of forget or never noticed – – I bet if you just keep finding those things you will know exactly how to make the writer in you come out.

    Then you can make lots of money and sit around on the couch all day and live out your life 🙂

    Love Ya.

  2. Jackie Says:

    Leah,

    I’m not an expert…all I know is that some writers entertain me, make me think, make me laugh, and some do not. You DO!! Yours is the only blog I follow religiously, and if you ever wrote a book, I would be the first in line to buy it.

    I love your work! Don’t ever stop writing, punches or not.

    Love you and miss you,
    Jackie

  3. auntie coon Says:

    You must write! Your grandma has the “story telling” gift, as does your mother (she can make me laugh so hard I practically pee my pants), and so do you (I make sure I’m not drinking anything when I read your stuff)! Just remember – writing is hard work too – but if you’re doing what you love, then it’s not really work is it?

    WRITE LEAH – WRITE!!!


Leave a Reply

